Man #7, The Financial Planner

22 03 2011

I wasn’t really thinking my date with Man #7 would amount too much.  I had actually started to think that the date would never happen.  Man #7 and I had been trying to coordinate our schedules via email for almost 4 weeks.  I had decided to write him off until he suggested we talk on the phone. 

It was at that point that we discovered we had similar business interests.  He has his MBA from the same university where I am getting mine.  He’s also a financial planner, and I have been considering changing careers to do just that. So, I HAD to meet him.  HAD to.

It was also another coffee date, scheduled for 10 a.m. and I figured I’d have my coffee, start my day with a date, and then go get some work done. (My Starbuck’s rewards card is really getting a workout these days.)

I arrived at Starbuck’s and thought I recognized Man #7 from his profile picture on Plentyoffish.  I wasn’t sure though, so I stepped into line to order my coffee.  As I was waiting in line, I made eye contact with the man I thought was Man #7, but I couldn’t tell if the look on his face meant he recognized me or not.  This fucking online dating shit is so messed up.  It’s so awkward even after emailing and talking to someone for four weeks.  You never know what the person might really look like until you get to the actual date.

He wasn’t a bad looking guy; he just didn’t really look like his profile picture.

After I ordered my coffee I stood there waiting for it to be ready.  Since I didn’t want to walk up to a strange man and ask him if he had a date with me, I decided to send him a text.

I sent, “Are you wearing a blue jacket?”

“Yes,” came the reply.

At this point, I got my coffee, turned around, saw that he was looking around, and walked over to his table.  It was actually pretty slick.

He laughed and said, “I thought you were spying on me.”

We both laughed about the whole online dating thing, and how both of us had been hesitant to approach the other because we didn’t want to approach the wrong person.

Once the actual act of meeting each other was out of the way, we got to talking and really hit it off.  We mostly talked about financial planning and the difference between large companies, small companies, and independent agents.  He did most of the talking.  Normally, this would bother me, but I didn’t really mind since I was interested in learning as much as I could from him.

We talked for a little over an hour when suddenly he said, “Do you want to go for a walk? Let’s go for a walk.”

“Sure,” I said.

So, we took off around the lake.  I actually thought this was pretty cool.  It takes at least an hour to go around the lake, and I thought this was a good sign that he was enjoying our conversation.  I was also glad I had worn comfortable shoes.

Once we started walking, our conversation started to move away from financial and estate planning and on to more personal things.  He told me he liked curvy women and jokingly complained that my coat covered my butt.  We also discovered that neither one of us knows how to swim, but he owns a sailboat.

“You don’t swim, and you have a sailboat? How does that work?” I asked.

“That’s what life jackets are for.”

“Oh.” 

Even through two near-drowning experiences, I used to believe a good life jacket was all I needed too enjoy the water until last summer when I went river rafting, fell off my floaty, and ended up floating down the river with a cord wrapped around my torso and leg.  I screamed bloody murder until some random rednecks on a gravel bar stopped smoking pot long enough to pull me out.

That gets the heart going.

But I digress…

Man #7 and I talked about a lot of other things, but let’s just say we laughed a lot and had a lot of common interests.  Plus, it was actually the first time a man had made me feel attractive since I was with my ex-husband, and at the end of the date, he went in for a kiss.  I can’t say I was really ready for it.  I’ve written before about how I feel about kisses on a first date.  But on the other hand, it was the first time since my ex-husband and I had separated that I had kissed anyone, and although it was a little awkward, it was also kind of nice.

Photo here.

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 03 2011
CMSSLPG

Coffee, good conversation, a walk, & he likes curvy women. Sounds like a nice date & you got the first kiss after ex out of the way. Cool!

I am so proud of you for the way you are putting your life back together and moving on. As I read your blog, I laugh, chuckle, moan, and just simply enjoy!

Waiting to see some more dialogue/comments on here as it is interesting to read others’ perspective.

Keep writin’, Ms. P. I’ll keep reading & commenting.

22 03 2011
Anne

Glad you had such a nice date — you definitely deserve it! And thank goodness for those rednecks along the river bank that day way back. 🙂

22 03 2011
Ann

You go, girl! I’m glad you had a good date. There are a few decent guys on pof.

15 04 2011
Man #10, Finance Man « My Dating Prescription

[…] you remember Finance Man from Craigslist Crap Shoot, not to be confused with Man #7, The Financial Planner?  On the night that I placed my ad on Craigslist, Finance Man was the one who suggested that I […]

13 05 2011
The Game and the Cock Block « My Dating Prescription

[…] don’t suppose anyone remembers the Financial Planner? He was Man #7, has a sailboat but doesn’t swim, told me he likes curvy women, kissed me on […]

1 06 2011
Gonna Fly Now « My Dating Prescription

[…] invisible in the U.S. than to become obese.  It’s weird, but during my first date with the Financial Planner, we ended up talking about Afghanistan and the wearing of the burka.  I had stated that if I had […]

Leave a Reply

