Back in the Saddle

3 04 2011

I can always tell when my blogging has dropped off beyond an acceptable level. Someone will let me know. I start receiving emails asking if I’m ok, and comments threatening to drag me out on a date.  It’s all good.  It’s nice to know that someone finds my dating adventures exciting.

So, we DO have a little catching up to do.  As I mentioned in Confessions of a Serial Dater, I had been out of town at a retreat where in addition to two full days of lectures and interacting with friends and colleagues, I also had to give a speech.  The thing is; I’m really not that outgoing.  In fact, I’m a bit of an introvert.  I can turn on the charm when I need to, but I need time by myself to recharge.  When I got back home on the afternoon of Saturday, the 26th, all I wanted to do was put my sweats on, open a bottle of wine, and hang out watching movies with my dog, Thor.

The problem was my friend, Terry, had a birthday party that night that I was supposed to go to.  I was home for only about an hour before my gaybor (my gay neighbor) sent me a text wanting to know if I was still going.

“I don’t think so. I’m wiped out.”

I got a text back, “I’m really disappointed. We need to go to this party.”  I think he might have even called me a bitch.  I don’t remember.  What really got me was that he was “disappointed” in me.

So, I said, “Ok. I’ll go as long as I don’t have to put in any effort.”  That’s terrible, I know, but I really didn’t have the energy.

“We’ll pick you up at 8:30.”

This is just one of the reasons why friends are important.  I rolled out of the house when my friends arrived just as I was, jeans, blouse, ballet flats.  I DID have makeup on, (I rarely leave the house without it) and the party turned out to be a blast.  In fact, I probably ended up having more fun than my friends who dragged me there.  After a couple of high-octane vodka concoctions mixed by my former boss, I was singing Stevie Nicks’ “Stop Draggin’ My Heart” around with the birthday boy.  (Have I mentioned I love music and karaoke?)  Actually, I don’t need any alcohol to sing, and I really wasn’t ready to leave when my friends dragged me back out of there a few hours later.

Last week was another high intensity week spent mostly out of town, spending very LONG days with friends and colleagues.  Given that the week was also very numbers oriented, spent discussing the economy, data modeling, and negotiations, my brain was in a VERY different mode than where I needed it to be for writing about my dating escapades.

Once we got past the work that needed to be done last week, there were a lot of good things about the trip that bear mentioning.  First of all, I was with great people. Some I knew pretty well. Others I am just getting to know.  Every night when we finished with our work, we got together to do a little bonding over drinks. Well, actually, I take that back.  The first night, I just went to my room. It was part of that alone time that I need, but Thursday and Friday nights were spent getting to know each other.

The first night, I felt wiped out.  I went back to my room and I couldn’t even sit at the desk long enough to respond to emails that had piled up during the day, let alone write a blog post.   Instead, I decided to take advantage of the amenities of my room.  Now, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m pretty frugal.  There is a definite difference in the room I would book for myself and the one that was booked for this trip by someone else.  When I travel, I typically find lodging that is just comfortable enough.  I don’t spend a lot on where I’ll sleep because I plan to be out and about, not in my room.  Remind me to tell you the story later of the horrible, hell-hole hostel in Kyoto where my frugal ways backfired on me.

The room I stayed in last week was pretty nice though.  I don’t know that it was a room worth $500 a night, but it was pretty nice.  It had a king size feather bed, a fireplace and a double jacuzzi tub.  What’s not to like about that?   In the spirit of getting the most for the money, I made myself a fire, poured all of the shower gel into the tub, and took a nice, dimly lit bubble bath.  It was FAR too romantic for one person!  Once my muscles had been sufficiently pummeled by the jacuzzi jets I jumped into the middle of the big king-size bed and went to sleep.

Ahhhh!

On Thursday and Friday night, I went out with my friends and colleagues to bond more with the folks I didn’t know as well.  We have some big wine drinkers in our group.  I may or may not be one of them…

…maybe.

Inevitably in these social situations, someone I know will mention my blog, which then prompts questions like, “You’re writing a blog? What’s it about? What’s it call? Where can I find it?”  This happened the week before at the birthday party too.  I’ve never been particularly comfortable with shameless self promotion, but people get VERY curious when they find out that I’m dating and writing about it.  Twenty minutes into a discussion, I’ll find myself thinking I need to change the subject.  I don’t want to dominate the conversation, and I’m curious to find out more about the people I’m meeting.  It turns out though that people are very interested in dating, especially if they are married!

Over the past week, these dating discussions have also resulted in another development.  There are suddenly a few people who are interested in hooking me up with some of their single friends.  This is potentially a very good thing.  Add another category to the Dating Prescription Scoreboard, the blind date!

Oh, and a lesbian date may also be in my future.  I’ve written about the things men do to make women opt out for relationships with their cats, but I have yet to discuss some of the other alternatives involving pussies.

Never fear!  I’m back in the saddle.  I had a date this afternoon, which I will write about tomorrow.  PLUS, there is another new development.

Guess who emailed me yesterday?

Photo here.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 04 2011
Dkl

I’m hoping it was blues man

10 04 2011
CMSSLPG

love the picture you have on this blog!

10 04 2011
mydatingprescription

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

