Happy Happy Joy Joy

5 04 2011

After disappearing for a month and a half, I suddenly received an email last Friday from The Blues Man.  He explained that he had let his match.com account lapse and had not been able to contact me until it was reinstated.  He said things had gotten busy for him, so he had let it expire until he could hit the reset button.

I realize that this could also be code for he met someone, tried dating her for a short period of time, and was now back in the pond, but I was happy to receive his email regardless of where he had been.

The next day, I emailed him back and told him that I too had been busy, too busy, in fact, to log onto match.com lately.  This was true.  I had logged on only long enough to set up my date with Lawyer, Lawyer and send the required number of emails needed to ensure that I would meet match.com’s guarantee criteria. 

I asked The Blues Man how he was, and then picked up where we had left off with a little game he had started before our first date of asking each other numbered questions.  For example, his initial questions to me were things like:

  1. Have you had any fun dates from ‘Match’?
  2. What made you smile today?
  3. Is your second toe longer than your big toe?
  4. Do you have a favorite happy hour drink?
  5. To many questions?

I had answered these questions long ago, but since we had talked about movies, his facial hair, and his music on our date, I asked him the following on Saturday when I responded to his email:

  1. What’s your favorite snack when watching movies?
  2. Do you still have your beard?
  3. Where do you perform?

The same day, he responded with:

  1. My favorite snack while watching movies would be: Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia, Mt. Dew, and Nacho Cheese Doritos. Woo hoo!
  2. Yes…..I still have my beard.
  3. Where do I perform?  He listed five clubs in a neighborhood not too far from my house.

Holy shit!  Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia is my FAVORITE flavor, followed closely by Everything but the…. I am not a big fan of the facial hair, but he was still working on his album. Like I said before, I can support anyone who has developed a concept and is working towards putting the whole artistic package together.  With the venues he listed, it gave me just enough information to be a crazed groupie or stalker, but I decided I would not be going to see him play unless I was invited.

I let him know that we had Cherry Garcia in common, but that buttered popcorn and peanut M&Ms mixed together, washed down with Cherry Coke was really the way to go.  In addition to the movie snack answer, I sent him the following:

2. Although hair seems to grow more easily now that I’m over 40, I do not have a beard.
3. I perform mostly in my living room, the car, and the shower, but I do make the occasional appearance at a karaoke bar or birthday party.

When he responded, he stated that he had worked with a woman who had a beard she seemed to be quite proud of.  He said that performing in the shower is where most people get their vocal start, and that you can’t beat shower reverb! 

He also wanted to know if you can buy popcorn and peanut M&Ms pre-mixed or if you have to mix it yourself.  Sounds like I may have a convert!

By Sunday afternoon, I let him know that I too had a freaky past experience with a bearded lady, and no matter how old I get or how poor my eyesight becomes, I will tweeze or wax or laser to prevent that from happening. So help me! 

I also let him know that I do a mean Anita Baker in the shower as well as an Italian song from La Notre Dame de Paris, and although he would have to mix his own peanut butter/popcorn concoction, it is yummy and he should try it.

Then I got cocky and took my questions too far:

  1. What’s your favorite shower tune?
  2. Have you kissed anyone with your mucho mariachi mustache?
  3. What’s your favorite song to play on the guitar? Is it one of yours or something else?

Hold your breath.  Wait for it…

This is what I got in response…

  1. My favorite shower tune without a doubt…..hands down, is ‘Rio’, by Duran Duran! I rock the sh*t out of that song, when in the shower!
  2. Oh…you mean the ‘Cheech Marin’ mustache?  I briefly kissed one gal, but I couldn’t feel anything, so I have since trimmed it down a bit. I think there just might be a song worth writing about a Mucho Mariachi Mustache. Did you wanna’ kiss it? You could have, ya’ know.
  3. What is my favorite song to play on the guitar?  That varies. I try to play as much as I can, as often as I can. I am entering a Led Zeppelin type feel right now.

Did you see that?  #2?  Did you see it?

I think my heart stopped.

What to do?  What to do?  I’m obviously no good at this question game.  I walked right into that one.

F*ck!!

Photo/video here.

Actions

Information

10 responses

5 04 2011
Dkl

don’t let it get to you…he’s ‘out there’ meeting people, like you, and if, like you, he has qualities that make him attractive to the opposite sex, it’s kind of inevitable that he is going to kiss a few people, possible in situations that overlap a bit until he decides to be exclusive with one person.

5 04 2011
mydatingprescription

Oh, I’m not worried that he might be kissing other people. I’m certainly not dating anyone exclusively. I’m trying to figure out how best to respond to his question about if I wanted to kiss him? Where he said, “You could have, you know.”

5 04 2011
Dkl

ah, ok 🙂

6 04 2011
Surrey gal

Depends whether you would like to or not!
To me it looks like “Did you wanna’ kiss it? You could have, ya’ know” was supposed to be a vers from the song that’s worth writing. So why don’t you follow the game and just write few more verses of the song, putting there of course your preferences to kissing this moustache 🙂

6 04 2011
mydatingprescription

I took your advice. Stay tuned.

7 04 2011
Surrey gal

Of course I will 🙂

9 04 2011
yogaRetreat

so how’s things?

10 04 2011
Taking Risks « My Dating Prescription

[…] remember that the other day, in an email message, The Blues Man asked me if I wanted to kiss his mucho mariachi mustache.  Well, I took Surrey Gal’s suggestion and sent him some song lyrics.  Not my best work, […]

19 04 2011
Battling the Blues « My Dating Prescription

[…] probably wondering what happened with The Blues Man and whether or not I got my kiss, right?  Well, in response to my request for a kiss, The Blues Man asked if a kiss would also […]

26 04 2011
Happy Birthday to Me! « My Dating Prescription

[…] my eldest son brought me flowers and a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Everything but the…, my second favorite flavor.  He no longer lives at home, and I don’t get to see him as often anymore as I would like, […]

Leave a Reply

