Man #13, Come As You Are

24 04 2011

Lucky number 13!

From what I can tell, Man #13 is a rabid sports fan.  He emailed me a couple of days before our date excited about the fact that he was going to be The Twelfth Man. He, therefore, would be wearing blue. 

Yeah, well, no. 

I had to email him back and break the news to him that since there was still 48 hours between his email and our date, I would be doing what serial daters do.  I’d be going on a date.  That would make him lucky #13!

I asked him how he felt about that.  I mean, nobody should HAVE to be #13, should they?  If hotels can eliminate the 13th floor or the 13th room, then there should be some leeway for allowing him to be #14.  I actually told him I’d be willing to provide a horror story of online dating lore, and would be willing to take my total number of dates to #101 if my readers insisted that I was cheating them out of a date by giving him an out.

But, Man #13 emailed back, and said, “I am not remotely superstitious so being number 13 I embrace, embrace I say!!! I will be the floor that does not exist in buildings.”

That’s the spirit!  Go get ’em tiger!

Man #13 is another one of the guys I had in my stash from my initial Craigslist ad back in March, and I had really been looking forward to meeting him.  We had been emailing back and forth sporadically for the past month.  A month passed, and finally, we were able to get our schedules in sync and have a date.   We went to EMP to see the Nirvana exhibit.  Awesome!

Museums and art galleries generally make good dates.  These settings give two people a place where they’re not just sitting there interviewing each other. (Another reason I detest the coffee date.)  You can discuss the exhibit while also finding out about one another.  Then, if you find you really click, you can go have a coffee, a drink, or maybe even dinner.   The drawback, however, is you may not get to see as much of the exhibit as you would like.  I realized halfway through my date with Man #13 that I have usually gone to art museums and other exhibits alone.  I’m one of these people who can spend HOURS in a museum.  Yes, hours.  Since Man #13 and I were talking the whole time we were there, I now feel like I need to go back again to see the exhibit.  Good stuff there though, from what I can tell.

But let’s get to the real deal, shall we?  There is one key point I want to make about Man #13, and the reason for the title of this post.  In addition to the Nirvana reference, Come as You Are refers to the fact that Man #13 would never show up on my dating radar if I was using “my list.”  Yeah, that’s right, my list.  To put it more bluntly, Man #13 is not my “type.” 

Since I’m trying to date 100 men, I’ve ditched my list.  And, you want to know what?  I am meeting some very interesting people. 

Ok, well wait a minute.  Maybe I haven’t completely ditched my list.  After my Battling the Blues post, ElderBaud suggested that I try to figure some things out about what exactly it was about The Blues Man that I was so attracted to, and I had to confess that I had started a data table of my dates.  I’m tracking things like height, weight, personality attributes, ethnicity, profession, and education level.  For example, when I ran a probability plot of the heights of the dates I have had so far, it turns out that the mean height of my dates is 6′-1″ tall with a standard deviation of 3.033 inches.  This outcome totally makes sense, of course, since I am 5′-10″, and I think I am getting closer to actually nailing down the exact measurement where a man is not “tall enough to ride the ride.”

But I digress.  Let’s get back to the discussion of my list.

Aside from my data collection, let’s just say that I have become more lenient with my dating requirements.  My type of guy is usually a clean-shaven professional with dark hair and dark eyes and a sense of humor.  Ethnicity does not matter as much to me, but as past history indicates, I tend to fall for Latin men.  Man #13 did not fit any of these descriptors.  His blonde, well mostly white, hair falls to his shoulders and is longer than mine.  He has a full beard.  He does not have piercing dark eyes.  He is not particularly funny, although he is a published author, so I did enjoy his intelligence and insights.

So you see, Man #13 would normally be one of the men I would easily dismiss if he came up as a “Meet me” on Plentyoffish or as one of my Daily 5 on Match.com. (The Daily 5 are the profiles of five individuals that are sent to you each day on Match.com. They are selected for you based on your search criteria, your list, which actually means Man #13 would not normally even show up there.)

All of this is to say that despite not being my “type,” I found myself somewhat attracted to Man #13.  Do you know what it was?  He was 6′-1″ tall and about 210 pounds.  He was my physical type. (According to my statistics.)

Turns out that since Man #13 likes to go dancing, his type needs to be “easy to spin.”  I’m too tall to be easy to spin.  I would probably make a good tango partner though.

Photo here.

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 04 2011
Surrey gal

So will there be a next date, or the fact that you are not “easy to spin” is a deal breaker for him?

29 04 2011
mydatingprescription

No, and I will be explaining, or hinting, in my next post.

Leave a Reply

