Weight Loss Weigh-in Wednesday #1

15 06 2011

Oh my god. I wish my ass looked as tight as it feels right now.  I guess the combination of squats, deadlifts, and one-legged, balancing lunge thingies that Zach threw at me earlier today must be having the desired effect, at least on the inside.  I’ve been working out at Experience Fitness with Zach for a couple of weeks now.  We sort of got a slow start because I was so busy with school, but I’m meeting with him for personal training three times a week now. 

The workouts are good and efficient.  Zach packs a lot of exercise into a half an hour.  These aren’t the gym sessions I used to do in my twenties where I would spend an hour working on nothing but legs one day, arms and back the next, and chest, shoulders, and triceps the following day. Instead, every exercise Zach has me do combines two or more body parts.  He also incorporates a lot of exercises that require me to work on my balance.  (We all know balance starts to go after 40.)

In an effort to track my progress and keep me honest, I thought I would try something new.  Today will be the first of what I’m going to call, “Weight Loss Weigh-in Wednesdays.”  I’m thinking this will help keep me accountable.

Here’s more information on where I’m starting. (This is not going to be pretty.)

  • Height 5′-10″
  • Weight 245 lbs. (3 pounds lost)
  • Percent body fat: 39.8%
  • Body Mass Index: 35 (This officially categorizes me as obese.)

Measurements:

  • Chest: 48″
  • Bicep: 14″
  • Waist: 46″
  • Hips: 49.5″
  • Thigh: 24″
  • Calf: 17.25″

Damn! I’m a big girl.  I decided taking measurements would be another way to measure my success. Obviously, I want to drop a lot of weight.  You always hear that muscle weighs more than fat, however, so I want track both my weight and measurements. 

Zach told me today that the first ten pounds are the hardest to lose.  He said once a person gets past that, they usually find their groove and get into a routine of exercise and diet that works for them.

Just looking at these numbers makes me cringe.

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 06 2011
Bob

keep going girl!!!
He is right, that’s why you went to the professional for honest and sincere advice/motivation.

15 06 2011
mydatingprescription

Yes, and he’s promising to make my workouts harder as soon as I start to get used to them.

16 06 2011
Surrey gal

I’m thinking that last 10 pounds are hardest to lose, first 10 are easiest as weithg just flies off, no? Ask him about it.
Good luck!!!
Oh, and you have a beautiful hour glass figure, lucky you!!!

16 06 2011
mydatingprescription

I think the last ten are hard too. I think the first ten are difficult because it means changing the way you’ve been doing things.

Leave a Reply

