Weight Loss Weigh-in Wednesday #4

6 07 2011

Today I weight 243. That’s a two-pound weigh loss since last week. The numbers on the scale aren’t moving very fast, but I am starting to see changes in the mirror. While I still have my belly, I’m going from looking approximately 7 months pregnant to about 6. The tale of the tape will happen when Zach, my personal trainer at Experience Fitness, changes my workout in a few weeks.  He has warned me that as soon as my body gets used to doing the workouts that we’re doing now, he will switch things up and make things more difficult.

That’s what personal trainers are for, I guess.  He really pushes me.  He’s not a drill sergeant, which is good, but he’s always pushing.  I’m up to pressing 30 pound dumbbells on the chest press and lifting 90 pounds on the lat pulldown. Basically, I’m back to lifting the kind of weights I did when I was in my twenties.

If I was trying to lose weight and get strong on my own, I probably wouldn’t even be making it out of bed to work out in the morning.  The accountability factor is huge.  I would feel like a shit if I missed an appointment, so I’m lacing up my tennis shoes at 6 in the morning and taking the 20 minute walk (one-way) up this huge hill to get to the gym.  Sometimes I have to hit the snooze a couple of times, but I always make it.  The payoff, of course, is that I’m starting to see measurable results in strength, endurance, and in how my clothes fit.

Last night, a friend of mine commented that I was looking thinner through my hips.  We were out at a Central District dive bar celebrating the fact that my friend, Marcy, had just been promoted to purple belt in Kung Fu. (Honestly, watching her test really made me want to go kick something.)  This outing was not good for my diet, because I ended up having two beers, (that’s four drinks already this week) with tater tots and nachos for dinner.  It’s not quite as bad as it sounds. The nachos and tots were shared between my three friends and I, but it’s certainly not the high-fiber lean protein my nutritionist would like me to be eating.

Starting the week with a party holiday is not easy.

Today is another day, and I will be good. I promise.

Today is, in fact, my anniversary.  Yes, I’m still married to that selfish f&%$er.  He had the audacity to send me a text message on Sunday asking if I would want to go have lunch with him. I was en route to Dora’s birthday party, so I told him I was already having lunch.  In response, he sent another text, “Want to do shots tonight?”

What an ignorant dick. I didn’t even answer.

I have already heard from him today, of course.  He wanted to know if I would want to go have dinner, and invited me to one of my favorite crepe restaurants in the city.  Damn it! He knows me.

I sent a text back, “To celebrate our anniversary???”

“We don’t have to if you don’t want. I just wanted to say thank you for being incredible and many other things.”

Yes, so incredible he needs a divorce.  I have another birthday party to go to tonight, so I will NOT be dining with my STB-ex.  Morbid curiosity has me wondering what he really wants, but something tells me sitting through dinner with him would not be worth it to find out.

Surprisingly, I’m not really that sad today. I think the 4th of July was harder for me than today.  The first year my husband was in the U.S. and two days before our wedding, we went to watch the fireworks at Gasworks Park.  His enthusiasm and the way he had been taking pictures and sending them to his parents in Colombia made me realize how much we take for granted in this country. It had actually made me cry.  This year, as I watched the fireworks, even though I was surrounded by friends, I found myself recalling that time, and it made me a little sad.

But now, I’d just like to get strong at Experience Fitness, maybe learn a little Kung Fu, and go kick him.

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 07 2011
wow

you are looking much more “toned” already. Noticed when we were visiting on skype the 4th.

6 07 2011
mydatingprescription

That’s good to hear. I’m kind of looking forward to taking measurements again. I don’t want to get my hopes too high though.

8 07 2011
Surrey gal

What idiots men are! I’m wondering what on earth was he thinking when he was inviting you…
But I bet it made you feel nice, I always like it when my ex is sad or shows any kind of weakness.

8 07 2011
mydatingprescription

I like to think that he’s sad, but it’s more likely that he wants something and is trying to be manipulative. If he’s sad, it’s his own damn fault.

13 07 2011
ElderBaud

I agree with the whole accountability thing. I’ve always told anyone who asked that the hardest thing about working out is walking out the front door of your own house. Once you get to the gym, a lot of the battle is won. Knowing that someone that you’re paying is waiting there to kick your butt really helps the motivation to get off the couch.

13 07 2011
mydatingprescription

It’s true. When I’m trying to do it on my own, I’ll schedule yoga for an hour in the morning. Then, I wake up, and I’m really tired or really hungry, and I think that I’ll put it off until the afternoon. By the time afternoon comes, I’m done. It’s so much better to know that I’ll be letting someone down, and my reputation will be on the line if I don’t show up.

Leave a Reply

