Weight Loss Weigh-in Wednesday #5

13 07 2011

It’s barely going to still be Wednesday by the time I post this. I’ve just arrived home after going to the first summer concert at University Village. My social life is killing my diet. I’ve found myself in social/drinking situations three times in the past week. My goal of only having one drink per week is not working out very well.  I’m just such a social butterfly…

with an apparent lack of willpower when someone wants to buy me a beer.

I was good for part of the day however. I made it to my personal training appointment at Experience Fitness this morning with Zach. He’s adjusted my workout slightly to deal with some elbow pain I was experiencing.

After my gym workout and a 40 minute walk going to and coming home from the gym, I walked around Green Lake with a friend of mine and Thor.  I got plenty of cardio this morning, but I blew it with beer consumption.

I did not lose any weight this week, but I’m still in good spirits about my progress in the gym.

Tomorrow is another day, a day to try to be more disciplined.

This social butterfly is going to have to learn to drink sparkling water with lime.

Actions

Information

7 responses

14 07 2011
Surrey gal

Please, tell me these are NOT your feet 🙂
Drink vodka and diet coke, I believe this is the least calorific drink? and most efficient 🙂

14 07 2011
mydatingprescription

Oh, God no! I think those might be a man’s feet. My toenails are much nicer and usually covered in polish.

15 07 2011
LB

Cranberry juice and sparkling water is yummy, too! 🙂

15 07 2011
mydatingprescription

I should do that. I actually like pomagranite juice with sparkling water, so I could do that too.

15 07 2011
John

I started a diet about 2 months ago. So far I’ve lost 25lbs. I feel very good about that! So what did I look for when looking for a diet to follow? I looked for something that would be simple for me to do and I needed to be able to drink alchohol as well as I needed to be able to cheat and not have it undo all of my dieting work. I think I’ve found a diet that finally works for me (Tim Ferris’ 4-hour body book). 1) I can drink 2-3 glasses of red wine and it doesn’t impact my diet. 2) I can eat all I want, but it can’t be white (with the exception of plain yogurt and Cauliflower not sure I spelled that correctly), so no rice, no pasta, no sugar, no flour, no milk, no potatoes, nothing that uses any of these simple carbs, so no cake, no donuts, no candy bars. 3) One day every week I cheat like crazy…so I chose Sat to cheat, I can float this to a different day if there is something going on and I do extra cheat days on holidays. So if I’m craving Pizza all week, I get to have it on Sat, and that seems to satisfy me, as well as several beers, yummy! I think I appreciate them more this way. I have had to add spinach to my eggs every morning to keep my system sane (think green eggs and ham here) and I do have plain yogurt (full fat, not fat free) as it has a lot of great probiotics to help with digestion. This diet has been so easy once I got past the first 2 weeks. I’m not counting calories at all, I’m pretty sure I regularly have more than 2000 a day. I think the cheat day is really important to help keep you regulated and emotionally to deal with the diet and no guilt. Like I said, in 2 months I’ve lost 25lbs, which is very reasonable, about 3 lbs per week, I’m satisfied and to be real honest, I wake up hungry and I don’t think I ever ‘felt’ hunger before, which is weird, but a good feeling! I find I also don’t over eat, I’m starting to listen to my stomach when it tells me it is full, I think this is a result of actually now feeling what hunger feels like. I highly recommend trying this, change over to Red Wine when you are out or with your meal and push the white stuff off of the plate.

15 07 2011
mydatingprescription

Thanks for the info. When I have to restrict myself too much or if I have to go out and buy a bunch of “health” food, I find that I have a really hard time sticking to my diet. This sounds like it has plenty of freedom built in to keep you satisfied.

23 07 2011
Renee

Don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

