Following Doctor’s Orders

27 08 2011

When my therapist issued his prescription, there were really two parts to his orders that I was supposed to follow. The first part of the prescription was to date 100 men without getting serious with anyone, but I completely ignored the second part.

Do you remember what it was?

The second part of his prescription was probably more important, and I forgot about it.  Well, maybe I tried to forget about it. Maybe there was a part of me that just didn’t want to follow it.

Any ideas?

Let me give you a hint.  It’s like not taking all of the antibiotics prescribed to you.  Just when you think things are good, you’ll be sick again, and not following your doctor’s orders will just come back to bite you in the ass.

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 08 2011
Struggling Dad

I give up — tell us!

28 08 2011
mydatingprescription

Just posted.

28 08 2011
Stranger Reading

Were you supposed to set boundaries, not date losers, find a Jewish doctor, and run really fast if you felt instant attraction to someone? Personally, I wouldn’t recommend a Jewish doctor. A Jewish accountant is a better choice.

28 08 2011
mydatingprescription

I think you’re probably right about the Jewish accountant. I don’t really like going to the doctor, so to live with one would be quite a challenge for me.

28 08 2011
Struggling Dad

Geez… you mean we have to do our own research? 🙂

You said that you were told:
“Oh, and if you meet someone who you’re immediately attracted to like you were with your husband,” he says, “run as fast as you can in the opposite direction.”

Does that mean you’ve felt the need to follow the instructions to run and yet not run?

28 08 2011
mydatingprescription

Exactly. I just kept going back for more.

28 08 2011
Kathy D

Well, now I feel like I’m cheating because I read the other comments, but I definitely remember the part about running in the opposite direction if you find someone like your STB-Ex to whom you’re attracted. Now will you drop the other shoe?

28 08 2011
mydatingprescription

Dropped.

Leave a Reply

