Trying to Take Off the Tonnage Tuesday

13 12 2011

It’s been a while since I posted a weigh in, and this one’s not going to be pretty. I’m totally pissed at myself and frustrated. Back in summer and fall, I was slowly losing weight, a pound here, a pound there. The last weight I posted here on my blog in August was 242 pounds.

Then I started making trips out to Eastern Washington.

You know how when the oxygen masks fall down from the ceiling of an airplane, they tell you to put the mask on yourself before helping anyone else? Well, apparently, I am not good at taking care of myself when I’m taking care of someone else.

Being in Eastern Washington meant that I left my personal trainer behind and missed my workouts. Shuffling around the block with my uncle was NOT the same as hitting the gym. Finally, it seemed like all we did when we weren’t taking care of my uncle was EAT!

First of all, on my trips over, I developed a bad habit for hitting the Dairy Queen in Yakima. Then, when my uncle was in the hospice facility, I would skip breakfast at the house so I could get to him earlier in the morning and would opt for a trip through the Starbuck’s drive-through instead. Although the daily coffee Frappacino and spinach feta wrap helped me finally earn my gold card, they were disasterous to my waistline. Finally, my aunt is a big believer in dessert after every meal, and I am horrible at saying no to dessert. Just horrible.

Well, let’s just say I’m paying for it now.  I weighed myself and I am ashamed to say I am a hefty 252. My heaviest weight ever! It makes me want to cry.

Time to start over.

My alarm is set for 5:45 a.m.. My gym bag is packed. I have a date with my trainer tomorrow morning.

Actions

Information

7 responses

13 12 2011
Chicago-Style Girl

It’s okay. I know every pound that’s gained is one more you have to lose. But don’t lose faith. When you fall off the wagon, you get back on again. You learn from your mistakes and formulate a real plan for avoiding that specific mistake in the future. You can do it!

15 12 2011
mydatingprescription

Thanks for the words of encouragement. One thing I’m definitely learning is how easy it is for me to put the weight on, and how hrd it is to take off. I have to be more conscious of what I’m putting in my mouth.

14 12 2011
Marcy

Don’t give up!!! You are aware and you are working at a lot of change this year. I understand the shame, but hopefully you’ll move through it and understand you have nothing to be ashamed of about your weight.

Balancing taking care of yourself and others, who truly need it, is a delicate matter. Don’t beat yourself up for too long…

You can do it, as Chicago-Style Girl says!!! You are strong. You have will. You have many supporters!

15 12 2011
mydatingprescription

Thanks! Maybe I need to join you for kung fu one of these days. Some good round house kicks and ki-ais would probably help me lower my cortisol levels.

15 12 2011
wowmom

What went on will come off….. Stress, which you’ve been under, develops the cortisol. Glad to hear you are back to the gym and toning up and with that will drop the pounds a little at a time.

Wishing you the best…

15 12 2011
mydatingprescription

Thanks, Mom! My trainer and I talked about cortisol yesterday. It definitely makes a person hold onto the pounds, and even when I’m here I don’t get enough sleep and my stress level is high. Not sure what I need to do to bring it down.

20 01 2012
wittylaila

way to go girl!!

Leave a Reply

