Man #24, The Actual Date

17 02 2012

I apologize that it has taken me so long to recap my date with Man #24, but I felt I needed to give you the back story about how we got set up and how I was getting pressure from my friends for this to, not only be a good matchup, but to also provide good material for a romantic comedy. (Hence Man #24’s tag – The Leading Man.)

To be honest, I anticipated that The Leading Man and I would have a good date. The friends who set us up happen to be very intuitive about these kinds of things, and I usually trust their judgment. Like I said, however, I was extremely nervous. The last time I had seen Man #24 had been before I had gotten married, started feeling depressed and trapped, and started drowning myself in emotion-deadening amounts of food and red wine. Therefore, he was not going to see the thin, sexy woman to whom he had last spoken. He might not even recognize me.

Oh dear god.

When we set up our date, The Leading Man said he was willing to meet me somewhere near my neighborhood, and I appreciated this a lot. If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you know I have strong feelings about the things guys can do to make themselves look considerate from the very beginning, and offering to meet a woman on her turf is just one of them. By this, Ladies, I do not mean meeting a man at your house. (Geez, that would be scary.) What I mean is, if a man lives a half an hour away, he should not expect a woman to drive out to see him sight unseen. I’m okay with meeting a man halfway between his place and mine, but it’s always appreciated if he will make the extra effort to allow me to stay in neighborhoods in which I feel comfortable.

Sorry, guys. Maybe this doesn’t seem fair. But, your gender isn’t the one getting raped every 60 seconds in this country, so I don’t want to hear any whining and this is not something on which I’m willing to compromise.

Anyway, sorry for that tangent/soap box moment, but I just wanted to say how pleased I was that The Leading Man was willing to let me pick our rendezvous point without any pressure.

He mentioned that he was hungry for Thai food, and I was trying to think of a good Thai restaurant that had the right “first date” vibe somewhere in the U District. Unfortunately, there is a plethora of Thai restaurants in the area, but none of them have the kind of ambience I thought was comfortable for a first date/two people catching up after a long time kind of date. Most of them have these little, vinyl kitchen chairs to sit on, and I felt we really needed a booth. After himming and hahhing for a couple of seconds, I asked him if he would be willing to forego Thai in exchange for meeting at Schultzy’s instead. (Yes, I realize this is my third date in 24 that has been at Schultzy’s.)

He went for it, but then I felt bad for bulldozing his Thai food desires.

Although he said it was fine, I was conscious of what I had just done and felt I was not off on a good foot.

On the night of the date, I put on some dark-washed jeans, a brown top with three-quarter length sleeves, cute leopard spotted shoes, turquoise, brown, and gold necklace and bracelet, and gold earrings and headed out the door. Again, if you’ve been reading from the beginning, you may have noticed that I’m less anxious about sucking everything in these days. LONG gone are the Spanx! I still care about my appearance, but I am no longer willing to wrestle with compressive undergarments when I am out on a date.

The Leading Man and I met and talked for a few hours over beers and fries about everything from our friends and their crazy ideas to dogs to the legalization of marijuana to Ken Griffey Jr and beyond. The conversation was really fun and easy and I enjoyed it a lot.

At the end of the date, The Leading Man walked me to my car, gave me a kiss on the cheek and a hug and said we should definitely go out again. I said, “Well, next Saturday I’m invited to a party where everyone who comes has to perform a talent. You’re welcome to join me.”

He passed.

I admit; that would be a lot of pressure…

… but maybe we can go have Thai food.

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 02 2012
Kathy D

For anyone who doubts Ms. Rx’s wariness about where to meet a man and the potential dangers involved, a street-smart friend of mine had a first date earlier this year where the guy promptly began mashing on her (without asking) as soon as they’d finished their lunch. She wasn’t TOTALLY opposed, but felt weird that he didn’t ask. She politely extricated herself from his grasp and drove home. Moments later, she remembered an errand she’d meant to run after the date. She walked out of her front door and watched in horror as Mr. Hasty drove into the lot of her apartment complex. Yes, he had followed her. She asked why he was there and he said, “Well, I just thought I’d stop by.” She honestly felt that if she hadn’t remembered that errand and he’d surprised her at her front door, he would have forced himself in. Women know most men are trustworthy, but unfortunately, we have to prepare ourselves for those who are not.

17 02 2012
mydatingprescription

Scary. I’ve driven around randomly after dates just for this exact reason. You just never know. Ted Bundy was good-looking and charming, and look how he turned out.

I’m also glad I have Thor. He’s a good dog, but he’s not going to let anything bad happen to me…at least not without a fight.

18 03 2012
Joel Roberts

http://youtu.be/SQ5_HDavymI Here is a little humorous dating video to lighten the mood 🙂

15 04 2012
Man #25, The Karaoke Kripple « My Dating Prescription

[…] the end of my date with The Leading Man, he suggested we go out again, and I was totally willing. I liked his laid back vibe and I could […]

23 07 2012
The Leading Man and Important Lessons « My Dating Prescription

[…] The date had been really comfortable and fun. The Leading Man wasn’t one of those guys who made me feel […]

Leave a Reply

