Things That Make You Go Hmm

19 07 2012

I’ve written pretty extensively about the things men say and do to make me head in the opposite direction. In My Daily 5 – My Online Dating Profile Rant, I listed several things that I see repeatedly in online dating profiles, and why you shouldn’t use them.

In Emails, Emails Everywhere and Not a One to Read, I shared some of the criteria I use in my decision-making process when determining whether or not to respond to a man’s email.

But today, I’m afraid we need a whole new category. I am starting a new category called Profile Photo Fail, and I believe we’ve got ourselves a winner. Consider it a depository for bad online dating profile photos.

I hope the guy with the profile isn’t the one under the vase in this photo.

Actually, this photo requires a caption contest.  Except a contest needs a prize. What to give away? What to give away? Hmm.

Ok. Until I can think of something better, or come up with a line of MDP merchandise, how about some blogger love. Write your caption in the comments section from now until next Friday, July 27th, and the winner will become blogger or reader of the month. I’ll put a link to your website or blog in my sidebar. Sound good?

Oh, and by the way, the photo just happened as all strange things in online dating do. You know, you’re just cruising along, reading through someone’s profile, when all of a sudden something makes you say, “Oh my god, what the fuck is that?” Except, in this case, for once, it didn’t happen to me. This photo was sent to me by a friend.

The contest idea, however, I’m totally stealing that from The Byronic Man. You should go check out his blog and the blog of his doppelgänger, Go Jules Go.

I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

Happy Dating!

Actions

Information

17 responses

19 07 2012
Jen

Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Can I buy you dinner?

20 07 2012
Wilma

Yum. Not!

19 07 2012
Julie

Bad 1st dater…RIP

20 07 2012
Wilma

It must have really been a bad date to not make it out alive.

19 07 2012
Evan

No second date

20 07 2012
Wilma

Ouch! I have yet to have a date go this wrong.

19 07 2012
Kathy D

One down. Next?

20 07 2012
Wilma

For the record, my dating is catch and release. 🙂

20 07 2012
Ben

For a comment: now that match.com has added a zombie matching category we’d like you to meet our dad. He’ll turn up any minute now.

For a profile pic story, I was once matched on eharmony with a girl that thought it would be a grand idea to include an entire set of wedding pics in her profile. Yes she was the bride with the (I’m assuming ex) groom poorly blurred out with bad ms paint.

20 07 2012
Wilma

That’s pretty good. Wouldn’t it be even more awkward if this profile photo was on SeniorPeopleMeet.com. 🙂

The wedding pictures happen with men too; believe it or not. Usually they will be the only photo of the man in a suit or tux, and it will have the significant other cut off or snuffed out with MS Paint.

20 07 2012
Go Jules Go

Thank you for the bloggy shout-out, Wilma! 🙂 I don’t know if I’ve had enough coffee to come up with a clever caption just yet, but, that picture is…just… WOW.

20 07 2012
Wilma

I know. Sometimes I try to imagine what happened in the brain of an individual that caused them to take a course of action. For this, I have nothing.

20 07 2012
Zena Zee

“The Necrophiliacs’ Family Vacation 2012”

(Even saying that grossed me out.)

20 07 2012
Wilma

You’re a sick woman, Zena.

22 07 2012
The Byronic Man

Hey, that’s me! That’s fun, thanks.

My caption: “Well, as you can see from this photo from last Thursday, I’m single again! I’ve had time to heal and I’m ready to move on – will you be the next lucky lady in my profile pic?”

22 07 2012
Wilma

Ok, that caption is pretty funny, and probably closer to the truth than any of us would like to believe.

1 08 2012
Things That Make You Go Hmmm…Caption Winner « My Dating Prescription

[…] considering all of the captions left in the comments section of Things That Make You Go Hmm, I selected Byron’s as the winner of the caption contest. Not only was his caption funny, but […]

Leave a Reply

